top of page

Let me be clear...define your goals.

Do you have a goal in mind with your training? If not, that could be why you aren't achieving the success you desire.


Many clients come to me seeking to "get in better shape."

Let me be clear, there is nothing wrong with that, but it is also vague. And let's be honest, does it get you excited? As a trainer, I can work with you if your goal is simply to get in better shape, and trust me, you will get in better shape. However, I believe you will better off if you develop more concrete goals.


For instance, let's begin to define what "better shape" means. Why do you feel out of shape?


Do you get out of breath walking up 1 flight of steps? Do you not have energy to play with your children or grandchildren for more than 15 minutes before you feel exhausted?


Or is it your clothing? Do you have an old favorite pair of jeans in your closet that you cannot fit into?


Or is a number on the scale? Did you pass the 200 pound mark and would do anything to get the scale under it again?


Imagine if you shaped your goals based on those type of questions:

I would like to be able with walk up the steps and not be out of breath within 1 month of training.

I would like to be able to play for 30 minutes non-stop with my children before needing a break within 2 months of starting a workout plan.

I would like to lose 3 inches off my waist within 6 weeks so I can fit into my favorite jeans.

I would like to lose at least 15 pounds to be under 200 pounds within the next 3 months.


Can you begin to see how those goals are more motivating?


You've all likely heard of SMART goals. Smart goals are:

Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, Time-bound.


Look again at the example list above; all specific, mostly measurable (the out of breath one is a bit more subjective), definitely achievable, relevant to the overarching idea of getting in better shape, and with a definite end in sight time-wise.


As a trainer, I want to encourage you to take a look at where you are with your training and zero in on more concrete goals.


If you are my client, please email me and let me know what you came up with. I guarantee the increased focus of your goal will help you be motivated to train! And, as an added bonus, your increased focus may even help me as your trainer to zero in on specific movements, dietary ideas, etc. that will help you to achieve your goals.


But wait, there's more!


Simply by telling me you also increase your accountability which further helps your motivation to stay on track with your goal.


What made me want to write this? Two recent events.


First, I was working on material for my website and my son walked past and saw the banner on the site. He said to me, "Is that you dad?" I chuckled because, of course it's me, I wouldn't put someone else on my website. But I forgot that he was only 7 years old when those pictures were taken. Ages ago for a 16 year old! I thought to myself, "Wow, that picture will be a decade old next year." And then I realized, I need to redo that picture.



My excitement for training and eating immediately increased, no joke. The idea of attempting to get into the same shape that I was in when I was 33 and recreate that photo at age 43 gave an increased focus to my training.


Confession; I had been simply training to "stay in shape" for awhile. Now, with my goal in mind, I have something specific - recreating a picture, measurable - I know that to recreate that picture I need to increase muscle mass throughout much of this year likely to over 200 pounds and then starting early 2022 to begin a serious fat loss diet, achievable - had I thought of this goal in January of 2022, I wouldn't have time, but being only April of 2021 and having done it before, I know I can achieve this, relevant - this goal is relevant to my health and my aspirations as a personal trainer, time-bound - I put a cap on this goal of no later than June 1st, 2022.


(See what I did there? I just told you my goal and thereby I have increased my level of accountability!)


The second reason I wanted to write this was because a client came to me wanting to pass a fitness test. Not only was she excited but I was excited as a trainer. The test has very specific measurable requirements meaning the training we were doing was going to have to be very specific to prepare her body for the rigors of test day. Also, there was a definite date for the test which gave our training a sense of urgency and made it time-bound.


I started the article saying there's nothing wrong with simply wanting to get in better shape. And I meant it, some periods of life are too chaotic to do much better than simply maintain or slightly improve your shape. But if your life isn't chaotic and you have the time and energy to be a bit more focused, than I suggest you take the time to write out your goals.


You won't regret it.


Related Posts

See All

Comments


Search By Tags
bottom of page