top of page

Steel City Parkour! Part 2


Yes, you can play dodgeball there!

In part 1, we discussed the art of parkour with Steve DiGirolamo, owner of Steel City Parkour Gym. We looked at what got him excited about parkour, how he opened his gym, and some of his future plans for the gym. I also had the opportunity to talk with one of Steve’s coaches, Christian Winchell.

Will he make it?

Christian, give me a brief bio of yourself.

I started coaching parkour at gymnastics gyms in the beginning of 2011, and moved to Pennsylvania to work at Steel City (Parkour) in the beginning of 2016. I've placed first in the FlowFest freestyle competition for the past two years in a row.

Can you tell me anymore about FlowFest?

FlowFest is a style competition held in Raleigh North Carolina by a company called Autosaida. The rounds are 1v1 runs, and the judges value creative expression and skill difficulty. The coolest thing about it is the fact that it is for all types of movement, so competitors might be doing parkour, freerunning, tumbling, dancing, break dancing, or tricking.

When did you first get into parkour and what was it that got you into it?

I started watching parkour videos in 2009 and was captivated by the idea of being able to train your body to do more with your environment. At first I worked mainly on learning different flips and over time my focus has shifted predominantly toward parkour-specific movements

Can you tell me about the 1 or 2 videos that really inspired you early on regarding parkour?

The video that got many Americans to start training parkour back in the day is Russian Climbing. (The music was changed so it cuts out halfway through)

In 2010 I met the Russian in the video, Oleg Vorslav, and at the event everyone there said he was the one that sparked their interest in parkour. As parkour has become a lot more refined throughout the years, here is a video that inspires me now. When you compare them side by side the differences are substantial.

Tell me about your best trick or two.

One of my favorite tricks is my 720 flyaway. It’s a back flip from swinging off a bar, with two twists. I haven't done one in quite a while so it's definitely rusty now, but I worked so hard on it a few years ago and was so happy with how easily I was able to do it outside.

(Shown twice starting at 1:14)

How did you get started coaching at Steel City Parkour?

I met Steel City Parkour's owner Steve at Beast Coast, a large parkour event in DC, and have kept in touch on social media. When Steve opened his gym I drove out to visit and a year later the gym was large enough to need another leading coach.

And what keeps you at Steel City coaching kids?

What I love about coaching is that I get to help people learn how to do the same things that I love to do. When I'm not at work, I'm usually practicing and learning about parkour and freerunning myself, which then helps me coach better!

What resources are there for the aspiring parkourist besides coming to the gym?

A great resource for a beginner is The Parkour Roadmap by Max Henry. This book guides you though the evolution of parkour to present day and explains everything from how to do the foundational techniques to what travel is like in other countries for a parkour road trip. Apart from that, YouTube is a great resource on its own. I learned many movements by studying videos on YouTube of experienced practitioners.

Sell me on Steel City Parkour, why should people come here?

Steel City Parkour is a playground for all ages. Whether you came in with a specific goal in mind, or want to just play, you're guaranteed to get exercise while having fun. The gym is open to all types of movement disciplines including parkour, freerunning, tumbling, tricking, and ninja warrior related activities.

Got bars?

What would be your advice to young kids looking to get into parkour?

The best advice I could give to a kid starting parkour is to start moving!

The strength and coordination needed to do more advanced parkour movements can be developed all while having fun and learning to use your body.

Regarding getting moving, do cell phones help or hurt parkour? Some use them to share moves and spread parkour; others are so wrapped up on electronics they don't get outside.

I definitely see both sides to the increasing cell phone use among aspiring parkour athletes. I think phones help more than they hurt. As new movements are done every day, I am constantly staying up to date on my favorite athletes' online presence to get inspiration for training. This is a connection everyone can have with the best practitioners simply by following Instagram. And it shows beginners what’s possible and can jump start their progression to achieve skills at a very early age. In my experience with coaching, it seems most kids spend the same amount of time on their phones. The difference is, when I ask them what parkour videos they watched recently, only the kids that are motivated to train have an answer.

What is a something I should have asked but did not?

I'd say "What is Parkour?" "Parkour" is the efficient movement from place to place without any external equipment like cars, bikes, etc. People who train parkour seek challenges, such as linking movements efficiently, scaling a wall, or safely controlling a precise landing. Many practitioners also incorporate "Freerunning", in which athletes integrate flips and style into their movement.

What is the future of parkour and who are some up and coming parkourists?

Parkour is going to continue to get very technical. Travis Verkaik, of the UK, is definitely someone to keep an eye on. Even though he is only around 16 years old, he has done some of the most difficult tricks to date, all within the last few months. The clip below is a kong gainer pre punch rudy. The phrase 'kong gainer pre' used to be a joke among practitioners because of how ridiculous that is. You have you dive at a wall hands first, and then get your whole body in front of you to back flip (with your head oh so close) and then he lands on a thin beam before doing a punch front flip with a twist!

Travis Verkaik

I also have high expectations for Arthur Franks, also from the UK like Travis, and is just 16 years old. I got to train with Arthur when he was in the US two years ago, luckily back when I could jump further than him. Since then he has continued to train hard and is doing massive jumps, and precise movements regularly.

Arthur Franks

Also, a parkour practitioner is known as a traceur, and someone who freeruns is a freerunner.

How can people follow you on social media?

Instagram @christianwinchell is the easiest.

----

I have personally been to Steel City Parkour many times. I can tell you it is a fun environment where you feel safely challenged to try new things and push yourself. Christians’ statement that it is “a playground for all ages” truly fits. There is a wide range of youth and young adults there working to improve themselves. And there exists a great camaraderie among all present.

If you are in the Pittsburgh area, I strongly encourage you to check it out!

Be sure to follow them on Instagram and Facebook as well to see exciting videos and be the first to hear about special guests!

Artist credit for dodgeball image:

Related Posts

See All
Search By Tags
bottom of page